//
you're reading...
Quote of the Week

Quote of the Week 3/9/14

Lately I’ve been amazed by how little I often accomplish in a full day’s work. I sit at my computer for hours at a time, typing, reading, revising, becoming aggravated, becoming inspired, on it goes, and at the end of the day, only a few measly unpolished pages to show for it. Such is the life of a writer.

When I first encountered this week’s quote in June of last year, the suggestion of a “commitment to error and floundering” seemed strange to me. I wondered why Goethe didn’t declare the day “committed to progress.” Is “error and floundering” really something that we should strive for?

As my recent experiences have shown me, progress isn’t a linear path of maximum efficiency, it requires struggle. Trial and error is an important part of the creative process, and hopefully it will lead to an optimal solution, but not before many failures. There will be days when, despite sincere effort, no forward progress will be made; instead of writing a new chapter, I cut six existing paragraphs. It happens, but the struggle brings me closer to the result I am straining to achieve, and this is what I believe Goethe meant.

To say that the day is committed to progress is to apply an unrealistic standard. Dedication to continuing the struggle each day, regardless of how arduous the process becomes, does not ensure success, but the compounding effort will inevitably produce progress.

About Paul Rotter

Paul Rotter was born in Southeastern Pennsylvania. He earned a B.A. in English from the University of Central Florida where he was a Finalist for Outstanding Literary Nonfiction Writer. He currently writes for an Investor Relations firm in Maitland, FL. You can follow him on twitter @pmrotter

Discussion

One thought on “Quote of the Week 3/9/14

  1. I could not agree more with the part where you said “the struggle brings me closer to the result I am straining to achieve,” I think the same way.

    Posted by joewriteshiswrongs | March 17, 2014, 10:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Follow Inspiratio ex Machina on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 317 other followers

Archives

Blogs I Follow

Little Book Quirks

Where Bookworms unite

rpmbcr

Reading Past My Bedtime- Book Reviews

Musings

glints of gold sparkling, shining

hanging chad

Author | Freelance Writer | Entrepreneur | Speaker and Workshop Leader

Pursuit of Happiness

Diary of a Happy Soul

Price is Truth

Hard luck lessons and other stories about what NOT to do in the Markets

Emile Seligman

rhetoric, rants, reviews

The Jackie Blog

Life Is Funny

The Pursuit: Being Creative

Where Art, Inspiration and Creativity Live

Piercing through the Winds

Alas! Ephemeral; it was nothing, but a dream.

Practical Stoicism

Using the wisdom of the ancient world in the modern one

Inside Schrodinger's Box

Life of a Physics Major

Everybody Changes

thoughts, transitions, moments, life in photos

Thoughts In A Bubble

Ghiwa Abi Haidar

The Wandering Id

A Blog by Jimmy Sky - featuring reviews, interviews, stories, music, poetry, politics, art, travel notes, journal scraps and pieces of Jimmy's soul,

A Hiker's Dream

The place where the sky and the earth meet

Blog Woman!!! - Life Uncategorized

Mother, Nehiyaw, Metis, & career communicator. This is my collection of opinions, stories, and the occasional rise to, or fall from, challenge. In other words, it's my party, I can fun if I want to. .................................................................. Artwork by aaronpaquette.net

The Off-Season Writer

*Part time student, full time dreamer, year round amateur writer. This is a blog of stories, thoughts, rants, opinions, visions, hopes, wants, desires, and dreams.

Jeanine Harb

Computer Enthusiast, Blogger

