//
you're reading...
Nonfiction

What They Don’t Tell You About the Great American Rat Race

My parents first entered the workforce with lofty goals of contributing to social justice and healing the emotionally wounded. My father did alright as a social worker, though the cases were often overwhelming and the bureaucracy oppressive, but my mother’s ambitions to start a career as an art therapist weren’t exactly panning out, and it’s hard to have dreams when you can’t afford a mattress. They wanted to start a family and decided it was time for something more practical, so they abandoned their former dreams for a new form of martyrdom and fell into the herd by joining the Great American Rat Race.

What they don’t tell you about joining the rat race is how comfortable it can be. There’s a certain degree of stability that comes with working nine to five and a steady paycheck. Unlike my parents, I was raised in that comfort zone, and naturally, resented it passionately. Never knowing exactly how much money we had, I intuitively sensed what was reasonable and what was more than I could expect to possess. I had nothing lavish enough to show off or brag about, and nothing so shabby that I might be embarrassed. In short, our economic position was idyllically dull. My mother’s horror stories of her childhood spent in a roach infested apartment full of siblings and cousins seemed enthralling by comparison.

The inherent normalcy of our middleclass lifestyle instilled in me a yearning for the struggle that my parents had worked desperately to shield me from. At a young age I questioned whether comfort was equal to happiness, and though my parents insisted that they were content, the glaze over my father’s eyes at the end of the day told me otherwise. The fatigue induced by hours of sitting under buzzing fluorescent bulbs in an air-conditioned cubicle staring at a computer monitor horrified me. Reinforced by media representations of the corporate world as a mindless and inescapable loop of bureaucracy (“Office Space”), I assured myself that I would never, ever, succumb to The Man.

Now I’m spending my lunch break typing thoughts away for a minor dose of sanity as my nose inches closer and closer to the keyboard because I’m sitting in a broken office chair that sinks under the weight of my growing great American rat ass, not unlike my hopes and dreams. I drive home with eyes glazed over and no thoughts in my head because the emptiness just feels sort of cathartic, and when I arrive, I pour myself a beer and nuke a microwavable dinner because anything less bland just might remind me of what my life is missing. What they don’t tell you about the rat race is that there is no way to loosen a tie without being reminded of a dog scratching at his leash.

What they tell you is that the important thing is to hold on to the hope, because the rat race offers opportunity.  The beauty of capitalism is that there’s a price to pay for everything. Someday I too can have a fashionable lifestyle and protect my children from feeling too deeply. It could be done another way, but then there’s the risk. The great American rat race is the quickest way to maintain the status quo, and there’s something to be said for certainty, no matter how insipid it may be.

What they don’t tell you about the rat race is that it’s bad, but it’s not that bad. Half the fun of working in the corporate world is whining loudly to coworkers about what an asshole my boss is over drinks at T.G.I. Friday’s on a Wednesday night. Plus, there are always weekends, holidays, lame office parties, benefits, incentives, and don’t forget the stability. Hell, if I’m lucky, I might even be able to sneak out of the office fifteen minutes early on “Casual Friday”. Essentially, it’s just tolerable enough for me to convince myself at least once a week that “Yes, this is worth it. I’m getting something out of this. Perhaps not fulfillment, but something, definitely something.”

My parents retired a few years ago after putting my brother and me through college. Dad got a part-time job at big-box hardware store, mostly to keep busy, but also to get a discount on power tools he never uses. They travel a lot. Italy two years ago, last year was Mexico, this year they’re spending a few weeks in Spain. “It’s all thanks to Siemens Corp,” they remind me. I nod and wonder how old I’ll be before I can appreciate the bounty of my toils. Will I make it? My rhetorical questions do little to counter the dogmatic belief that I have to try.

What they don’t tell you about the great American rat race is that there’s a fine line between giving in and giving up.

About Paul Rotter

Paul Rotter was born in Southeastern Pennsylvania. He earned a B.A. in English from the University of Central Florida where he was a Finalist for Outstanding Literary Nonfiction Writer. He currently writes for an Investor Relations firm in Maitland, FL. You can follow him on twitter @pmrotter

Discussion

11 thoughts on “What They Don’t Tell You About the Great American Rat Race

  1. You have no idea how much this hits home with me or maybe you do. So many things you mentioned have been running through my head recently. I can justify 9-5 but barely and sometimes it seems so irrational. I can justify it because of fear and because it looks okay on paper but the human spirit doesn’t always make calculations based on that.

    Posted by MrJohnson | February 21, 2014, 12:06 am
    • I am sorry to hear that this resonated with you 😛 I try to remain motivated by telling myself that I am not defined by what I do to earn a living. Instead I try to concentrate on the hobbies and free-time activities that reflect my character and the person I would like to become. Still, sometimes it helps to get my frustrations out on a page. I posted this because I suspected that many people are having similar experiences that are somewhat unique to this time period and society, and therefore, worth reflecting upon and discussing.

      Posted by Paul Rotter | February 21, 2014, 9:11 am
      • I try to do the same with my spare time but no matter what the 9-5 is still there and it’s a large part of our waking hours. I don’t believe everyone has to do it though but there would be sacrifices like money, lifestyle and social acceptance. However, if you piled on the financial commitments then there may not be any other option but to do the 9-5. I guess this is why I never committed to anything long term..haha. I don’t want to be stuck. I have been entertaining the idea of going 9-1 to lessen my comfortably miserable existence. The punishment will be less money and I will be looked upon as a loser. Oh well, I know this 9-5 route for sure sucks.

        Posted by MrJohnson | February 21, 2014, 8:52 pm
        • I’m a firm believer in living my life for me, but that being said, it’s definitely a challenge to make decisions knowing that you will judged by family, friends, and peers. This is a natural part of the human condition, and though it may be difficult to endure, it’s definitely worth writing about and expressing in a meaningful way. Writing has always added significance to my life, no matter how disheartening conditions may be at present!

          Posted by Paul Rotter | February 21, 2014, 11:48 pm
  2. Hang in there! I might also say that I am in the same predicament, so I know what you are getting at, but think of it this way, the rat race is your training ground, where you run everyday building up strength and courage and fortifying the idea of one day walking in a field of daffodils, free to explore beyond the horizon. The worst thing one could do is to get comfortable thinking “it isn’t too bad”, hang on to that hatred and let it fuel your desire to finally destroy those walls that confine you. And when you do, then you’ll be kicking ass and screaming “F#@K* YOU!” to The Man! Too much? LOL 😛
    *Wasn’t sure if I could swear here…

    Posted by Siddharth Singh | February 21, 2014, 4:02 am
  3. You speak for so many, Paul, and so articulately.

    Posted by Bhaswati Ghosh | February 22, 2014, 5:48 pm
  4. This resonates with me, I long to escape from this ‘organised’ society I endure every day.

    Posted by sonyacocopop | February 26, 2014, 11:50 am
  5. It is comfortable, isn’t it? I’ve realized sometimes I haven’t taken chances I might because the effort seemed too much given the prospective reward, when it was demands and rewards on top of the reasonably safe routine.

    Posted by Joseph Nebus | March 4, 2014, 5:46 pm
    • Yes, the “comfort” can be inhibiting, and even though I use that word in the piece, I think the word “familiarity” is more appropriate. It is always important to make decisions based on the risk/potential reward, but so often it is easier to stick with what we know even if it isn’t satisfying. The fear of things getting worse is what traps us in that “comfort zone”.

      Posted by Paul Rotter | March 4, 2014, 6:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Follow Inspiratio ex Machina on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 317 other followers

Archives

Blogs I Follow

Little Book Quirks

Where Bookworms unite

rpmbcr

Reading Past My Bedtime- Book Reviews

Musings

glints of gold sparkling, shining

hanging chad

Author | Freelance Writer | Entrepreneur | Speaker and Workshop Leader

Pursuit of Happiness

Diary of a Happy Soul

Price is Truth

Hard luck lessons and other stories about what NOT to do in the Markets

Emile Seligman

rhetoric, rants, reviews

The Jackie Blog

Life Is Funny

The Pursuit: Being Creative

Where Art, Inspiration and Creativity Live

Piercing through the Winds

Alas! Ephemeral; it was nothing, but a dream.

Practical Stoicism

Using the wisdom of the ancient world in the modern one

Inside Schrodinger's Box

Life of a Physics Major

Everybody Changes

thoughts, transitions, moments, life in photos

Thoughts In A Bubble

Ghiwa Abi Haidar

The Wandering Id

A Blog by Jimmy Sky - featuring reviews, interviews, stories, music, poetry, politics, art, travel notes, journal scraps and pieces of Jimmy's soul,

A Hiker's Dream

The place where the sky and the earth meet

Blog Woman!!! - Life Uncategorized

Mother, Nehiyaw, Metis, & career communicator. This is my collection of opinions, stories, and the occasional rise to, or fall from, challenge. In other words, it's my party, I can fun if I want to. .................................................................. Artwork by aaronpaquette.net

The Off-Season Writer

*Part time student, full time dreamer, year round amateur writer. This is a blog of stories, thoughts, rants, opinions, visions, hopes, wants, desires, and dreams.

Jeanine Harb

Computer Enthusiast, Blogger

